Get a Free Legal Consultation on Hit & Run Charges in FL
Under the laws in Florida, hit and run can be a very serious crime with very substantial penalties, depending on what happened in the accident. If you need to defend yourself in criminal court from a hit and run charge, you need to be sure that you are being represented by a skilled defense attorney with experience fighting hit and run cases. Your future and your freedom can depend on it
If you are involved in an accident with property damage or personal injury, you were in a very stressful situation. Anyone who has been in an accident knows the adrenaline rush that follows. Immediately following an accident you may not be thinking clearly and may make bad decisions. If you had a moment of panic and failed to stop after an accident, we understand how that can happen.
You also may be accused when you did nothing wrong. Cases of mistaken identification do happen in Florida hit and run cases.
Maybe the accident wasn’t that serious and you didn’t know you had to stop. Perhaps the other car was empty and you were unsure of your responsibilities. Although not knowing the law is not a defense to breaking it, it may help explain your side to the court.
Everyone makes mistakes. Whatever your situation, it will take anexperienced criminal defense lawyer on your side to make sure you are protected and treated fairly when up against the Florida legal system.
We are here to help you deal with the aftermath of yours. We are interested in learning the specifics of your case and how things really happened. Call us for a consultation on your Florida hit and run case.
Your Legal Responsibilities in a Florida Car Accident
If you are involved in an accident that results in any kind of damage, whether it be to property or another person, you are legally required to stop and exchange information. This is known under Florida law as Duty to Give Information and Render Aid. You must give your name, address, registration and show your license if requested to do so.
If the other vehicle is unattended you must make an attempt to locate the owner and leave the information where the owner can find it if you are unable to locate them.
If the other person is injured in the accident you must give reasonable aid and help to see that emergency crews are en route, and not leave the scene of the accident.
Failure to do any of this can result in a ticket or traffic citation (if there was only minor property damage) or criminal charges (if there was an injury or serious property damage involved).
Ref. Fl. Stat. § 316.062
Penalties for Hit and Run in Florida
What you could be facing if charged with this crime depends on the circumstances and severity of the accident. In Florida, Leaving the scene of an accident is a criminal charge.
Hit and Run, Accidents Involving only Property Damage
If you fail to stop and exchange information following an accident that results in property damage, you could face 2nd degree misdemeanorcharges punishable by up to 60 days in jail and fines up to $500.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §316.061
Hit and Run, Accidents Involving Injury
If the accident you were involved in resulted in someone being injured you will face far more serious 3rd degree felony charges that carry a potential sentence of up to 15 years and $10,000 in fines.
Also, you will be required to pay restitution to the other driver and your driver’s license will be revoked.
Ref: Fl. Stat. §316.027
The Legal Advice You Need in a Florida Car Accident/ Hit & Run Case… For Free
Even if you made a mistake, you need and deserve fair treatment under the law. We understand you may have been frightened and unsure of what to do after an accident. Not everyone knows the law. A hit and run arrest of criminal charge can have you wondering what happened, and what to do next.
We are here to listen to your side of the story and be sure that your interests are protected in the Florida criminal courts. Call for a consultation on your Florida hit and run case today. (877) 394-6959