Florida Marijuana Charge?

Free Legal Defense Case Evaluation on Florida Marijuana Possession Charges

Florida marijuana possession laws are among the toughest in the county, and the penalties the most severe. With many states passing medical marijuana laws, there is a nationwide trended to decriminalize possession of pot. Unfortunately Florida has not caught up to this trend to lay off the harmless pot smokers. Simple possession of marijuana is still a seriously prosecuted misdemeanor criminal offense.

If you were convicted of possession of marijuana it is possible to be sentenced to jail time, even for small amounts. Thought there is not a big risk of jail time likely for small amounts of pot, a joint or a blunt, any risk of jail time is enough to make most people very nervous. It is at a time like this that you need a defense attorney you can trust, to help you figure out what you are facing, and what you can do about it.

Our lawyers know how the Florida criminal courts treat marijuana offenses and can help you get the best possible results in court.  Whether you were caught with a small personal amount or busted with plants or a large amount, we can help.

We have handled many marijuana cases in the past and can tell you about results in cases similar to yours. But we still know each case is different and treat each accordingly. We are interested in learning the specifics of your case.

Call at at (877) 394-6959 for a free marijuana charge case evaluation, or contact us via the form, and we will be in touch. There’s no obligation.

Florida Marijuana Possession – Laws & Penalties

The seriousness of charge you face obviously depends on the amount of marijuana you were caught with or accused of possessing. If you are being charged with possession of cannabis, you will face the following charges:

Amount Charge: Maximum Sentence
Less than 20 grams 1st degree misdemeanor Up to 1 year in jail and $1,000 in fines
More than 20 grams 4th degree felony Up to 5 years in prison and $5,000 in fines
25 or more plants 3rd degree felony Up to 15 years in prison and $10,000 in fines

Ref: Fl. Stat. §893.13

Sale/Manufacture/Possession of Large Amounts of Marijuana – Florida Penalties

If you are caught with large amounts of marijuana and charged with sale, distribution, purchasing, or trafficking, you could face some serious prison time. The state of Florida has mandatory minimum sentences for many of these offenses to ensure that you will spend time in prison if you are found guilty of the charges.

Amount Charge: Maximum Sentence:
Distributing <20 g. 1st degree misdemeanor Up to 1 year in jail and up to $1,000
Less than 25 pounds 4th degree felony Up to 5 yrs. in prison and $5,000
25- 2,000 pounds 1st degree felony Minimum 3 yrsin prison and $25,000
2,000- 10,000 pounds 1st degree felony Minimum 7 yrsin prison and $50,000
More than 10,000 lbs. 1st degree felony Minimum 15 years in prison and $200,000

Ref: Fl. Stat. §893.135

With 1st degree felony charges you may be facing up to life in prison. The minimum sentence listed is only the bare minimum that the judge isrequired to sentence you to.

 Can I Beat a Marijuana Possession Charge?

Yes, there are always opportunities to fight the case in courts. We can file motions to suppress evidence against in you court, and challenge every element of your arrest, and any alleged evidence against you. Cops can absolutely be known to get out of line on pot busts, and exceed their legal  authority.

If this is a first offense of marijuana possession, and you are facing simple possession charge, we may be able to improve your chances of getting probation rather than serving any time. We will look at the circumstances surrounding your case and be able to give you a good indication of what kind of outcome you may get in court.

When you are facing possession of cannabis charges or other offenses in Florida criminal courts, time is of the essence. Call today for a consultation on your case with an experienced Florida defense lawyer, who knows how to fight and win marijuana cases in Florida criminal courts.

Call (877) 394-6959 for no obligation legal defense advice on any marijuana arrest in Florida.

 

Be Sociable, Share!