FL Concealed Weapon/Firearm Defense Lawyer can Help.
Firearms and weapon charges are extremely serious under Florida criminal laws, and you face serious penalties if found guilty.
You’ll want to speak with a Florida criminal defense lawyer who’s successfully defended weapons or firearms charges before.
But don’t delay. When you are facing a gun charge, the prosecutors are not often inclined to be cooperative or lenient, so we’ll need to get started preparing motions and laying the groundwork for your defense as soon as possible. Call (877) 394-6959
right away to set up a defense consultation with our Florida attorneys.
Florida Weapon and Firearms Laws
Under Florida criminal statues, a concealed weapon can be almost any “deadly weapon” carried on a person in such a manner as to conceal the weapon from the sight of another person.
A “knife” may or not be a deadly weapon. Whether a knife is a deadly weapon is determined by, “whether it will likely cause death or great bodily harm when used in the ordinary and usual manner contemplated by its design and construction,” or if the knife was “used in a threatening manner.” Robinson v. State, 547 So.2d 321 (1998).
A concealed firearm is essentially defined under Florida law as, any gun carried on a person in such a manner as to conceal the gun from the sight of another person.
A firearm is any weapon which will, or may be readily converted to, expel an explosive projectile. It essentially includes any gun, rifle, shotgun. The definition does not include any antique firearm, unless that firearm is used in the commission of a crime. The definition includes a starter gun.
Reference: FL Statutes. §790.01
How to Beat a Concealed Weapons Charge in Florida
People often ask if it is possible to beat charged of carrying a concealed weapon or firearms charges in Florida criminal courts, and the answer is definitely yes. Certainly some cases are more challenging that others, but no case is unwinnable.
We will evaluate the facts of your case, and work out reasonable defense options, or argue for a settlement and reduction of charges.
Some defenses may include: lapsed firearms license, arguing weather the alleged item is legal defined as a “weapon”, and a wide variety of other options.
Weapons charges are tricky, so legal strategies we will use to fight it can vary considerably based on the facts of your exact situation. We will explore and explain specific defense options and likely outcomes in a free legal consultation.
Florida Carrying a Concealed Weapon / Firearm – Penalties
Carrying a Concealed Weapon: An individual who carries a Concealed Weapon on or about his/her person is charged with a 1st Degree Misdemeanor. A first degree misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of 1 year in jail and a $1000 fine.
Carrying a Concealed Firearm: An individual who carries a Concealed Firearm, while unlicensed, on or about his/her person is charged with a3rd Degree Felony. A third degree felony carries a maximum penalty of 5 years in jail and a $5000 fine.
Free Consultation on any Firearm or Weapons Charge in Florida
Call us now for a criminal case evaluation and find out what you are likely facing in court, and what you can do about it. Our defense attorneys can size up your case and give you suggested defenses.
Call (877) 394-6959
or contact us and we’ll set up a time to talk, answer your questions about the seriousness of your charges. There’s no cost or further obligation for our legal advice.